The Uncertainty of Signs

January 16, 2016 § Leave a comment

Signs are not proofs, since anyone can produce false or ambiguous signs. Hence one falls back, paradoxically, on the omnipotence of language: since nothing assures language, I will regard it as the sole and final assurance: I shall no longer believe in interpretation. I shall receive every word from my other as a sign of the truth; and when I speak, I shall not doubt that he, too, receives what I say as the truth.

— Roland Barthes, A Lover’s Discourse

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Uncertainty of Signs at LV.

meta

