from Messiah, by Gore Vidal

February 26, 2015 § Leave a comment

(…)
For a moment the serenity which I have so long practiced failed me and I feared for my life. Had the long-awaited assassins finally come? But then that animal within who undoes us all with his fierce will to live grew quiet, accepting again the discipline I have so long maintained over him, his obedience due less perhaps to my strong will than to his fatigue, for he is no longer given to the rages and terrors and exultations that once dominated me as the moon does the tide; his defeat is my old age’s victory, and a bitter one.

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading from Messiah, by Gore Vidal at LV.

meta

