“I’ve developed an arrogant and forbidding attitude,

November 9, 2013 § 1 Comment

“Although I think I now have the best deal I could possibly have in the Air Force, acting the part of the experienced, competent journalist day by day has been quite a strain on my nervous system. I now tip the scales at a vastly reduced 168 pounds and I look rather silly when I attempt to wear the pants which fit me last spring. I had to give up cigarettes when my daily consumption topped the 3-pack-a-day mark, and I now smoke about two packs of tobacco per day, via the pipe route. Also, without the slightest exaggeration, I drink approximately 20 cups of coffee every 24 hours and manage to sleep about 5 hours a night. Of course, it goes without saying that I’m jumpy as a cat and am extremely unpleasant and sarcastic most of the time. I’ve developed an arrogant and forbidding attitude, which keeps most of the numbwits away from me.”

from letter from Hunter S. Thompson to Gerald “Ching” Tyrrell, September 22, 1956. Eglin Air Force Base.

§ One Response to “I’ve developed an arrogant and forbidding attitude,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading “I’ve developed an arrogant and forbidding attitude, at LV.

meta

